I have a breaking news for you. In France, the major canned veggies company admitted that they use animal products in the aromas of their canned veggies like peas, lentils, ... making them unsuitable for vegetarians or vegans.
More info here if you can read french: de-la-viande-dans-plusieurs-produits-de-legumes-bonduelle-5390
It may be the same in your area and as it is something not a lot of people expect, I wanted you to make sure the canned veggies you buy are really vegan.
It really is a shame we have to check everything. Do they really need to put meat in our veggies?
Mitigated victory: the company will update their labels to indicate their products are not suitable for vegetarians.
I rather would have heard them say they will stop using animal-derived aromas, but that is not the case unfortunately. The 0.5% of meat in their veggies seems more important than their 5% of vegetarian customers + few % of muslims, jewish,... not willing to buy veggies containing meat.
Wow thanks for posting Nicolas...I would never have realised! I only use bottled passata though, and the odd can of beans but it is nice to be in the know anyway :)
That's disgusting! Makes me want to vomit.
Somebody should sue the pants off of them!
Really people shouldn't have to doubt whether something like french fries, a can of vegetables, or a can of vegetable soup contain animal products or not. It should be a given that it doesn't.