Does anyone have a link to educate on "buzz words" that are listed in ingredients that help you know if something is vegan or not? Thanks
Labels are full of so many multi-syllable words that each one is an adventure in linguistics. The best bet is to avoid them, by remembering that an ideal food, cooked or raw, has just one ingredient--itself.
Look out for Casein- Milk
Whey/ Whey Protein-Milk
Anything that starts with glyc (prefix)
I know in some cases eggs are listed differently. It doesn't say eggs it's a powder, but I forgot the name. Believe it or not things such as condoms are not cruelty free. I was pretty grossed out to find that they're coated with casein. :(
I hope this helps. :)
I didn't know that about condoms!
Actually, I have book called "What's in your food?" by bill statham. It's a small book that charts scientific names of ingredients in your food by its function, effects, food use, and if it's safe or not. Great reference!
But, I would recommend eating whole foods so you're not suspicious of the ingredients.
I would watch for words like:
-sodium or potassium caesinate (milk protein)
-lysine or lysozyme (may be from animal origin unless specified it has been genetically engineered)
-albumin (egg source or other animal origin)
-sorbitan (usually followed by monostearate, trioleate, or tristearate...this MAY be from animal origin)
-sodium stearoyl lactylate (milk)
-calcium stearate (prefix stear- and suffix -sterate usually are associated with animal origin like "ascorbyl stearate" or "potassium stearate")
-aspartame (evidence linking to diverse health problems)
-calcium lactate (milk)
-potassium lactate (milk)
-lactose, lactitol, lactic acid (milk)
-catalase (bovine liver or from other animal origin, but may be GE)
-disodium inosinate (animal origin often containing MSG)
-gelatin (animal bone, horn, and cowhide)
-ethyl palmitate or myristate (may be of animal origin
These are some of the animal products I saw in the book "what's in your food", so I haven't even listed what you shouldn't use on your body, like aluminum which is not from animal origin, BUT there is much evidence linking it to alzheimers, lung/kidney disorders. Hydrolyzed silk proteins are also common in body washes, which come from the silk worm.
In general, watch for words that sound like they come from an animal (stear like a baby steer and lactate coming from milk)
Wow, this has such helpful info -- thank you so much, Cassie!!
You are very welcome :D
vitamin D3 is found in a lot of juices. It's made from a bi-product in sheep fur. I know a lot of OJ that's found in market has it, also some calcium supplements if you use those.
I only use bottled juice when its the only thing available in a time and place. I use Naked juice sometimes, it's certified vegan right on the label.
ha, kinda off subject, but am I the only one to do this, lol? Its a lot less expensive.
I'm still trying to get educated.